Fall update

Wow, I can’t believe I didn’t update all summer! It was a pretty crazy year for me. Things were in a spin for most of it after my little post-election layoff. The summer I worked at a garden center that actually brought home a bit less than being unemployed did, but I was so happy to be able to do something and earn my keep. And in the end, a recruiter found me and hired me for an awesome job that I’ve been at for 2 months now and absolutely love. I’m learning a lot, doing well, and loving my new co-workers.

I’ve been really enjoying myself this later summer/early fall. I’ve gotten into geocacheing, which is quite a lot of fun and gives me a chance to explore new parks and trails and get in some exercise.

geocacheing

I also went backpacking for the first time. I never did find anyone to backpack or camp with so I finally went it alone and it was wonderful. I did a small section of the Ice Age Trail and camped at Lapham Peak.
Lapham Peak Backpacking - Nemahbin Spring my halfway point

Lapham Peak Backpacking - Camp Set

I’ve always gone fishing with my dad, but this year instead of catch and release I’m bringing them home to feed myself.

20 inch walleye, the second one for my freezer

I’m looking at getting into hunting next season and have been practicing at the range and have been invited to learn to trapshoot.

1234905_10151702062808512_1645674894_n

And at the homestead, I added New Zealand rabbits now that I know what direction I want to go as far as backyard food production. I got 3 little girls and a boy that should be ready to breed soon, depending on who I listen to as to what age to start :D

Blackberry and Caramel

The garden did wonderfully. :)

Filled in nicely :)

This was one of my SAUCE tomatoes!

I like the shapely ones :D

The fruit cocktail tree produced nectarines and peaches for the first time.

Oh yeah!  The first peach ever produced by my fruit cocktail tree :) :) :)

But now…falls has already moved in and I’ll be spending the day pulling out spent plants :(

Fall...the beginning of the end.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Nice post Lynn! You sure are “one busy person”! Cheers, Susan

    Reply

  2. Loved reading and catching up on your posts. Don’t know how you do it all! Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

