Pantry Inventory

This month I’m doing a no-spend challenge for myself.  I will not be spending any money except to pay necessary bills and the mortgage.  Meals will simply be made out of the pantry.  I did ensure I stocked up on enough feed and hay for my animals before I got started.  Since it’ll cover Christmas I also picked up gift cards for my co-workers.

My intention in doing this is to force myself into a frugal mindset and stay out of stores with their temptations.  I’d like to focus only only spending on essentials in the upcoming year, so I can replenish my savings that were drained during my layoff.  I’ve got individual accounts set up for my major saving goals (emergency savings, new roof, enough to cover my health insurance deductible which doubled for next year, and starting to save fresh for a homestead).

Since the most challenging part of this for me will be finding new recipes to make use of all the food I have on hand, I started with an inventory.  This will make it easier to make sure I’m sticking to items in the pantry when I look for new recipes, and I can pick some of the less common ingredients (like farro or TVP) to base meals on so I can learn to make better use of them.  I’ll be sure to post up some recipes during the month.

Home Canned Items:
apple pie filling
apple sauce
asparagus
asparagus, pickled
black beans
broth
carrots
cauliflower, pickled
chickpeas
corn
dandelion jelly
dilly beans
garlic, pickled
grape juice
grapefruit
green beans
ketchup
peaches
pears
peas
pineapple
pinto beans
pork & beans
potato leak soup
potatoes
salsa
spaghetti sauce
strawberry jam
strawberry kiwi lemonaide concentrate
strawberry rhubarb jam
tomato soup
tomatoes, crushed
tomatoes, diced

Dehydrated
apples, diced
apples, sliced
banana chips
cabbage
carrots
corn
garlic
green peppers
hash browns
mixed veggies
onions
potato flakes
scallions
tomatoes
zucchini

Dry Goods
16 bean mix
6 grain rolled cereal
9 grain cracked cereal
alphabet soup mix
amaranth
arborio rice
baking powder
barley
beans (black, cannellini, chickpeas, great northern, kidney, navy, red, white)
blackeye peas
bread crumbs
brown sugar
bulger
bullion
cinnamon almond granola
cocoa powder
coffee
corn meal
corn starch
egg noodles
farro
flour
kamut
kasha
lasagna noodles
lentils
macaroni
masa
millet
mustard
oats, rolled
orzo
penne
polenta
popcorn
potato soup mix
powdered butter
powdered eggs
powdered milk
powdered peanut butter
powdered refried beans
powdered sour cream
quinoa
raisins
rice
rotini
salad dressing
salt
shiitake mushrooms
shortening powder
soba noodles
soy beans
spaghetti
spanish rice
spelt
spices, lots and lots
split peas
steel cut oats
sugar
TVP (beef, chicken, sausage, and taco flavors)
tomato powder
wheat
wheat cereal

Freeze Dried
asparagus
green beans
raspberries
strawberries

Frozen
chicken (breaded and non)
fish (breaded and non)
frozen fruit, assorted
frozen veggies, assorted
ground beef
steak

Refrigerated
butter
celery
cottage cheese
eggs
lemon juice
lime juice
mayo
shredded cheddar
shredded mozzarella
sour cream
tartar sauce
yeast
yogurt

Tinned and Bottled
chicken
cream of mushroom soup
enchilada sauce
fruit cocktail
honey
hot sauce
mushrooms
oil
peanut butter
refried beans
shortening
tomato juice
tomato paste
tuna
vanilla extract
vinegar (apple cider and white)

3 responses to this post.

  1. I think the idea of a no spend month is a great idea! Personally I would have to do more preparations before I could even attempt this. My pantry recently got a little low.

    There is something I we used to do one a month to help lower bills and to make us more thankful for what we have. We have no electricity days (we call it caveman day).

    We do not use any light, no electronic devices, and eat only raw foods. Sometimes we may build a fire and cook over that. Winter months we go ahead and leave the heat on and we still use hot water. I found it can be lots of fun with kids!

    Reply

  2. Lynn, I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again… YOU ARE AMAZING and I totally “get” what you’re doing and where you’re coming from. Kudos to you! Susan x

    Reply

  3. You have a great pantry list and I hope that your no spend month is going well. Very well organized! Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

